Pre-orders

Excited about an upcoming book release? Pre-order from Bookmarks to get the newest titles, support your local literary arts nonprofit and bookstore, and support your favorite authors.

Bookmarks can pre-order almost any title for you. Use the FIND A BOOK search bar at the top of this page to get started.

Below are some of the upcoming releases that we're most excited about. Read on to learn more about signed copies, pre-order perks, and more.

Having trouble finding what you're looking for? Give us a call at 336.747.1471 or send an email to staff@bookmarksnc.org.

We ship internationally to most countries! If you have trouble placing an international pre-order, please contact info@bookmarksnc.org

 

UPCOMING RELEASES:

(in order of release date)
Click on the graphic of the book to learn more and pre-order.

 


Time and Time Again by Chatham Greenfield

Order before July 14!

In this debut YA speculative romance perfect for fans of Rachael Lippincott, two queer, disabled, Jewish teens find themselves stuck in a time loop--and falling love.

Phoebe Mendel's day is never ending--literally.

On August 6th, she woke up to find herself stuck in a time loop. And for nearly a month of August 6ths since, Phoebe has relived the same day: pancakes with Mom in the morning, Scrabble with Dad in the afternoon, and constant research into how to reach tomorrow and make it to her appointment with a doctor who may actually take her IBS seriously. Everything is exactly, agonizingly the same.

That is, until the most mundane car crash ever sends Phoebe's childhood crush Jess crashing into the time loop.

Now also stuck, Jess convinces Phoebe to break out of her routine and take advantage of their consequence-free days to have fun. From splurging on concert tickets, to enacting (mostly) harmless revenge, to all-night road trips, Jess pulls Phoebe further and further out of her comfort zone--and deeper in love with them. But the more Phoebe falls for Jess, the more she worries about what's on the other side of the time loop. What if Jess is only giving her the time of day because they're trapped with no other options? What if Phoebe's new doctor dismisses her chronic pain? And perhaps worst of all: What if she never gets the chance to find out?
Phoebe Mendel's day is never ending--literally.

On August 6th, she woke up to find herself stuck in a time loop. And for nearly a month of August 6ths since, Phoebe has relived the same day: pancakes with Mom in the morning, Scrabble with Dad in the afternoon, and constant research into how to reach tomorrow and make it to her appointment with a doctor who may actually take her IBS seriously. Everything is exactly, agonizingly the same.

That is, until the most mundane car crash ever sends Phoebe's childhood crush Jess crashing into the time loop.

Now also stuck, Jess convinces Phoebe to break out of her routine and take advantage of their consequence-free days to have fun. From splurging on concert tickets, to enacting (mostly) harmless revenge, to all-night road trips, Jess pulls Phoebe further and further out of her comfort zone--and deeper in love with them. But the more Phoebe falls for Jess, the more she worries about what's on the other side of the time loop. What if Jess is only giving her the time of day because they're trapped with no other options? What if Phoebe's new doctor dismisses her chronic pain? And perhaps worst of all: What if she never gets the chance to find out? 

Signed and personalized copies will be available! At checkout, please indicate in the "Order Comments" section how you would like your book signed. If you do not want your book personalized, please indicate that you would like the author's signature only.
Please select "USPS Priority Mail for Pre-Order Campaign" at checkout for orders shipping to the US; please select "International Shipping" for orders outside of the US. Or select in-store pickup if you live locally!

Guardians of Dawn: Ami by S. Jae-Jones

Order before August 6!

Monsters hide. Love divides. The dead will rise.

They say that when the world is out of balance, the Guardians of Dawn are reborn.

Li Ami is an exile. Exiled from friendships, from ordinary magic, and from her own family, Ami is sent to the outermost West to care for her mentally ill father, whose rantings and ravings might actually spell out a dire prophecy. When her father is arrested for stealing from the sacred grounds of the castle, Ami must make herself of use to the presiding Beast by finding a cure to the mysterious blight that is decimating their harvest.

Guardian of Wood...There you are…

Meanwhile, as signs of magical corruption arise throughout the Morning Realms and the threat of the Mother of Ten Thousand Demons looms ever larger, the tenuous peace holding the Realms together begins to unravel. Jin Zhara, the newly empowered Guardian of Fire, realizes that she might be out of her element. Her magic is no match for the growing tide of undead, and she needs the Guardian of Wood to defeat the revenants razing the countryside. The two must journey to the Root of the World in order to seal the demon portal there and restore balance to an increasingly chaotic world.

Filled with adventure, romance and a race against time, Guardians of Dawn: Ami is the next book in the richly imagined Guardians of Dawn series.

Click here to pre-order your signed copy today!

Signed and personalized copies will be available! At checkout, please indicate in the "Order Comments" section how you would like your book signed. If you do not want your book personalized, please indicate that you would like the author's signature only.
Please select "USPS Priority Mail for Pre-Order Campaign" at checkout for orders shipping to the US; please select "International Shipping" for orders outside of the US. Or select in-store pickup if you live locally!

Night Magic: Adventures Among Glowworms, Moon Gardens, and Other Marvels of the Dark by Leigh Ann Henion

Order before September 13!

On this imperiled planet, nature’s magic still exists, often in the places we least expect it.

Night Magic is a glorious celebration of the dark! New York Times bestselling nature writer Leigh Ann Henion makes the case for embracing night as a profoundly beautiful part of the world we inhabit—and she invites us to leave our well-lit homes and step outside. It turns out we don’t have to go far to find marvels: We are surrounded by animals that rise with the moon, gigantic moths, and nocturnal blooms that reveal themselves, incrementally, as light fades. In her quest to know night with greater intimacy, Henion travels through forests alight with bioluminescent mushrooms and mountain valleys teeming with migratory salamanders. She ventures into the dark alongside naturalists, biologists, primitive-skills experts, and others who’ve dedicated their lives to cultivating relationships with darkness and the creatures who depend on it. 

Every page of this lyrical book feels like an opportunity to ask: How did I not know about this before? For example, we learn that it can take hours, not minutes, for human eyes to reach full night vision capacity. And that there are thousands of firefly species on earth, each with flash patterns as unique as fingerprints—with one million tourists making pilgrimages to witness synchronous fireflies every year. In this age of increasing artificial light, Night Magic is an invitation to focus on the biodiversity that surrounds us. We do not need to stargaze into the distant cosmos or to dive into the depths of oceans to find awe in the dark—when we reclaim night, dazzling wonders can be found in our own backyards.

Click here to pre-order your signed copy today!

Signed and personalized copies will be available! At checkout, please indicate in the "Order Comments" section how you would like your book signed. If you do not want your book personalized, please indicate that you would like the author's signature only.
Please select "USPS Priority Mail for Pre-Order Campaign" at checkout for orders shipping to the US; please select "International Shipping" for orders outside of the US. Or select in-store pickup if you live locally!

The Plan by Kendra Adachi

Order before October 1, 2024!

The New York Times bestselling author of The Lazy Genius Way brings her signature Kind Big Sister Energy to a practical time management book for people weary of productivity but eager to live a good life.

Why do so-called life hacks leave us drowning in tasks, schedules, and unfulfilled expectations? In her straightforward, humorous style, author Kendra Adachi reveals why the problem is not you.

Most time management systems prioritize optimization and greatness in service to an imagined future, but what if that's not your goal? What if you long for a book that helps you live wholeheartedly today? The PLAN is the answer. 

Using the memorable acronym "PLAN," you will learn to prepare, live, adjust, and notice like a Lazy Genius, all through the lens of what matters to you in your current season:

  • Discover two beliefs that will change time management forever 
  • Integrate your hormones, personality, and life stage into your planning process
  • Learn the Lighten the Load to-do list framework to help you get your stuff done
  • Use The PLAN Pyramid to help you visualize a balanced life
  • Experience freedom from the crushing pressure of greatness, potential, and hustle

Refreshingly compassionate and immediately practical, The PLAN is the book—and the framework—you've been waiting for.

Click here to pre-order your signed copy today!

Signed and personalized copies will be available! At checkout, please indicate in the "Order Comments" section how you would like your book signed. If you do not want your book personalized, please indicate that you would like the author's signature only.
Please select "USPS Priority Mail for Pre-Order Campaign" at checkout for orders shipping to the US; please select "International Shipping" for orders outside of the US. Or select in-store pickup if you live locally!

Where the Library Hides by Isabel Ibañez

Order before November 1, 2024!

The stunning conclusion to the story that started in What the River Knows. A lush immersive historical fantasy set in Egypt filled with adventure, and a rivals-to-lovers romance like no other!

1885, Egypt

Inez Olivera is left reeling from her cousin Elvira’s murder, and her mother’s betrayal, and when Tío Ricardo issues an ultimatum about her inheritance, she’s left with only one option to consider.

Marriage to Whitford Hayes.

Former British soldier, her uncle’s aide de camp, and one time nemesis, Whit has his own mysterious reasons for staying in Egypt. With her heart on the line, Inez might have to bind her fate to the one person whose secret plans could ruin her.

Click here to pre-order your signed copy today!

Signed and personalized copies will be available! At checkout, please indicate in the "Order Comments" section how you would like your book signed. If you do not want your book personalized, please indicate that you would like the author's signature only.
Please select "USPS Priority Mail for Pre-Order Campaign" at checkout for orders shipping to the US; please select "International Shipping" for orders outside of the US. Or select in-store pickup if you live locally!