Preorders

Excited about an upcoming book release? Pre-order from Bookmarks to get the newest titles, hassle-free.

Bookmarks can pre-order almost any title for you. Use the FIND A BOOK search bar to get started.

Below are some of the upcoming releases that we're most excited about. Read on to learn more about signed copies, pre-order perks, and more.

Having trouble finding what you're looking for? Give us a call at 336-747-1471 or send an email to staff@bookmarksnc.org.

The Golden Hour: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062834751
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: William Morrow - July 9th, 2019

"Beatriz Williams digs deep into historical fiction, shedding light on lesser known parts of history while creating vivid, overlapping stories. The Golden Hour takes readers on a journey from 1900 Switzerland to The Bahamas in the early 1940s when ruled by the Duke of Windsor to late 1943 wartime London with an overlapping connection of love and devotion to family. Recommended for readers of historical fiction, particularly World War II fiction like The Alice Network."   --Beth Seufer Buss, Bookstore Manager

Order now to reserve your signed copy and THE GOLDEN HOUR tote bag!


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Nickel Boys: A Novel Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9780385537070
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Doubleday - July 16th, 2019

"Whitehead is an expert craftsman who draws the reader in and makes you empathize so deeply that you miss them after you put down the book. You worry with them, you're angry for them, and you won't stop thinking about The Nickel Boys for a long time. It's hard to top Underground Railroad but Whitehead clearly has."

Order now to reserve your signed copy and get a free bookmark! 


Pre-Order Now Badge
Chances Are . . .: A novel Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781101947746
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Knopf - July 30th, 2019

From the Pulitzer Prize-winning Richard Russo--in his first stand-alone novel in a decade--comes a new revelation: a gripping story about the abiding yet complex power of friendship.

Order now to reserve your signed copy! 


Pre-Order Now Badge
Never Have I Ever: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062855312
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: William Morrow - July 30th, 2019

"In the very first pages of NEVER HAVE I EVER, a mysterious new neighbor shows up to the neighborhood book club, clearly there to shake things up. Book talk turns to drinking games, and it's clear this new addition has an ulterior motive--blackmail for an accident and cover-up long hidden. Jackson kept me on my feet as a reader, and I never saw the ending coming!"

Order now to reserve your signed copy!


Pre-Order Now Badge
Midnight Beauties (Grim Lovelies) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781328811905
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - August 13th, 2019

Exclusive Early Pre-Order Giveaway! 

After pre-ordering Midnight Beauties, please provide your contact information and proof of purchase using this form!

Readers who pre-order Midnight Beauties will receive a specialized bookmark, a cute sticker, a signed bookplate, and an exclusive art print from Melanie Bourgeois.

"MIDNIGHT BEAUTIES continues Anouk's story from GRIM LOVELIES while taking the Beasties' story a level deeper. Anouk is wrestling with questions of identity, fear of failure, and trying to find her place in this new magical world. This is the essential element of science fiction and fantasy -- to pose questions through extraordinary situations that help the reader better understand her own reality. I am in love with this story and can't wait to see what Anouk and the Beasties discover next."            --Jamie Rogers Southern, Bookmarks Operations Director

"Midnight Beauties is the perfect sequel and finale to Grim Lovelies. It drives home the message of "what does it mean to be human?" from the first book and takes you on a beautiful, fantastical ride along the way. Anouk is a delightful protagonist that, while she's learning, you feel like you're learning too, and when she fails, you almost feel like you can reach into the book and offer her a hand, but she doesn't need it one bit. She's kind and gentle but she's a tough one which makes this series a favorite for me. I know I'll be recommending this series to everyone that will listen for many years to come. Megan Shepherd has shaped a magical world I would be very excited to return to in a new series whether it's with the same characters or not!"     --Cat VanOrder, Bookmarks Bookseller


Pre-Order Now Badge
Dog Man: For Whom the Ball Rolls: From the Creator of Captain Underpants (Dog Man #7) Cover Image
By Dav Pilkey, Dav Pilkey (Illustrator), Dav Pilkey (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338236590
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Graphix - August 13th, 2019

Howl with laughter with Dog Man, the internationally bestselling series from Dav Pilkey, the creator of Captain Underpants!


Hollow Kingdom Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781538745823
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Grand Central Publishing - August 6th, 2019

One pet crow fights to save humanity from an apocalypse in this uniquely hilarious debut from a genre-bending literary author.

S.T., a domesticated crow, is a bird of simple pleasures: hanging out with his owner Big Jim, trading insults with Seattle's wild crows (those idiots), and enjoying the finest food humankind has to offer: Cheetos ®.


Pre-Order Now Badge
Lalani of the Distant Sea Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062747273
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Greenwillow Books - September 3rd, 2019

“Fast-paced and full of wonder, this is a powerful, gripping must-read.”—Kirkus (starred review)

“A lush and mysterious fable, full of beauty, full of wonder.”—Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal–winning author of When You Reach Me


Pre-Order Now Badge
The World Ends in April Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781524767617
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - September 3rd, 2019

"With a grandfather obsessed with survivalist prepping, Eleanor can’t help but spin out of control when she reads a Harvard scientist’s prediction that a giant asteroid is careening towards the earth, resulting in TEOTWAWKI (the End of the World As We Know It) in April. Eleanor of course shares the news with her best friend Mack, who can’t keep a secret, and soon their classmates band together in a secret “End of the World” Club to learn how to prepare for and survive a disaster. As Eleanor’s circle of friends grows, she learns friendship comes in all forms and that despite our best intentions we can’t always predict the future. Stacy McAnulty delivers another tightly paced, emotion-filled middle grade novel perfect for prompting conversations about friendship, science, and discovering the truth." --Beth, Bookstore Manager

Signed and personalized copies available!


Pre-Order Now Badge
American Royals Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781984830173
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - September 3rd, 2019

Alternate history meets The Bachelorette in AMERICAN ROYALS. All eyes are on Princesses Beatrice and Samantha Washington (that’s right, descended from the first King of America, George Washington) as they navigate life in the public eye while balancing their own personal romantic interests. As Princess Beatrice prepares to be the first woman to sit on the throne, she’s faced with the ultimate decision—loyalty to her country or her own heart. Fans of the Royal Family won’t want to miss the first in what will hopefully be a new series from Katharine McGee!  --Beth, Bookstore Manager


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Testaments: A Novel Cover Image
$28.95
ISBN: 9780385543781
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Nan A. Talese - September 10th, 2019

In this brilliant sequel to The Handmaid's Tale, acclaimed author Margaret Atwood answers the questions that have tantalized readers for decades.

When the van door slammed on Offred's future at the end of The Handmaid's Tale, readers had no way of telling what lay ahead for her—freedom, prison or death.
 


Pre-Order Now Badge
Dear Sweet Pea Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062473073
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - October 2019

The first middle grade novel from Julie Murphy, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dumplin’ (now a popular Netflix film), is a funny, heartwarming story perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead, Ali Benjamin, and Holly Goldberg Sloan.


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Water Dancer: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780399590597
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: One World - September 24th, 2019

In his boldly imagined first novel, Ta-Nehisi Coates, the National Book Award–winning author of Between the World and Me, brings home the most intimate evil of enslavement: the cleaving and separation of families.
 


Wayward Son (Simon Snow Series #2) Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250146076
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Wednesday Books - September 24th, 2019

THE HOTLY ANTICIPATED SEQUEL
TO THE NO. 1 BESTSELLER CARRY ON

Simon Snow is back and he's coming to America!

The story is supposed to be over.

Simon Snow did everything he was supposed to do. He beat the villain. He won the war. He even fell in love. Now comes the good part, right? Now comes the happily ever after…


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Tyrant's Tomb (The Trials of Apollo, Book Four) Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781484746448
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Disney-Hyperion - September 24th, 2019

It's not easy being Apollo, especially when you've been turned into a human and banished from Olympus. On his path to restoring five ancient oracles and reclaiming his godly powers, Apollo (aka Lester Papadopoulos) has faced both triumphs and tragedies.