Our Year in Reading: Mindfulness & Meditation

by Beth

Last year I read the memoir 10% Happier by Dan Harris, which led me to not only start meditating but also explore the topics of mindfulness and meditation. In the difficult and confusing year that has been 2020, I find myself craving the quiet mind and calm spirit that meditation brings, and I’m grateful for so many new books this year that help embrace the moment, create a path for change, and realize the connection between us all.

The 10% Happier app brings together renowned meditation teachers, and three of my favorites have new books this year: Real Change: Mindfulness to Heal Ourselves and the World by Sharon Salzberg combines mindfulness, kindness, and social action for a practical guide to engaging in challenging times. Stop Missing Your Life: How to Be Deeply Present in an Un-Present World by Cory Muscara explores the true meaning of presence and how to find happiness amidst chaos. You Belong: A Call for Connection by Sebene Selassie takes readers on a journey to embrace their authentic selves in every moment, which will not only allow them to experience joy but also acknowledge injustice, reckon with history, and face their shadows.

10% Happier Revised Edition: How I Tamed the Voice in My Head, Reduced Stress Without Losing My Edge, and Found Self-Help That Actually Works--A True Story Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062917607
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: Dey Street Books - April 16th, 2019

  


Real Change: Mindfulness to Heal Ourselves and the World Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781250310576
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: Flatiron Books - September 1st, 2020

  


Stop Missing Your Life: How to be Deeply Present in an Un-Present World Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780738285290
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: Da Capo Lifelong Books - December 31st, 2019

  


You Belong: A Call for Connection Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062940650
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: HarperOne - August 25th, 2020

This is a book that breaks barriers and encourages people of all identities to claim their innate and limitless potential. This 10-step guide teaches you how to create a daily meditation ritual that fits with your messy, modern life.


Stay Woke: A Meditation Guide for the Rest of Us Cover Image
$20.99
ISBN: 9781683643722
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: Sounds True - February 11th, 2020

A book that breaks barriers and encourages people of all identities to claim their innate and limitless potential. This 10-step guide teaches you how to create a daily meditation ritual that fits with your messy, modern life.


Total Meditation: Practices in Living the Awakened Life Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9781984825315
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: Harmony - September 22nd, 2020

The first book specifically about meditation by the long-time meditation teacher. Combining over three decades of teachings, this is a complete exploration of all the benefits that meditation can bring.


Wintering: The Power of Rest and Retreat in Difficult Times Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9780593189481
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: Riverhead Books - November 10th, 2020

A beautiful meditation itself on how to care for ourselves when we need to retreat the most. Rather than advising readers to pull themselves together out of the pain, May uses stories from literature, mythology, and the natural world to illustrate the transformative power of rest & retreat. Perfect for fans of Mary Oliver and Anne Lamott, Wintering is the book we all need after the disruption of this year.