Our Year in Learning: Young Adult Series

If you're looking to launch into a new world for the holidays, you can thank 2020 for bringing us so many brilliant new series! YA readers will delight in these puzzling contemporary thrillers, historical fantasies, and epic fantasy worlds.

Staff Pick Badge
Incendiary (Hollow Crown #1) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781368023801
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 28th, 2020

Set in a lush and darkly drawn world inspired by Inquisition Spain, Renata is one of the last remaining memory thieves. After being used as a weapon to destroy her own people, Ren is desperately trying to undo her own work. But when the leader of the resistance - and the love of her life - is kidnapped, she must reclaim her old mantle to infiltrate the castle.


The Inheritance Games Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781368052405
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 1st, 2020

A mind-boggling contemporary novel perfect for fans of Knives Out. Avery's best hope for surviving high school was landing a scholarship...not suddenly inheriting a billionaire's fortune. In order to claim her inheritance, Avery must survive the family's attempts to take her down.


These Violent Delights Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781534457690
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - November 17th, 2020

A Romeo and Juliet retelling meets historical fantasy with fierce feminist protagonists. Juliette Cai and Roma Montagov must put their guns away when a contagious madness begins to run through Shanghai, causing citizens to claw their own throats out. The trouble is, once they've put their weapons down...will they be able to pick them up again?


The Extraordinaries Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250203656
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: Tor Teen - July 14th, 2020

A bestselling, extraordinary romance. The trouble is, Nick Bell is not extraordinary. (He is, however, the most popular fanfiction writer in the Extraordinaries fandom.) Can he and his reluctant best friend use Nick's unique "superpower" to win over Nova City's mightiest hero?