NCSLMA2020

                                                                       

Welcome NCSLMA attendees!                                                                                                                                                                             

We are so glad that Carolina is on on your mind!  Located in downtown Winston-Salem, Bookmarks is a literary arts non-profit and independent bookstore that believes in books with purpose. We are so honored to be one of the conference's featured bookstores.  While we are saddened that we are not able to host you in our store,  we hope that your shopping experience with us is just as pleasant.

Please enjoy $10 off of any purchase by using coupon code NCSLMA20 at checkout.  Below we have highlighted just a few of the recent titles from the authors you will be hearing from this week.

Looking forward to the time that we can gather together to celebrate books but until then, stay safe and Happy Reading!

Pre-Order Now Badge
Ground Zero Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338245752
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Scholastic Press - February 2nd, 2021

In time for the twentieth anniversary of 9/11, master storyteller Alan Gratz (Refugee) delivers a pulse-pounding and unforgettable take on history and hope, revenge and fear -- and the stunning links between the past and present.


Ashlords Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593119174
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - January 21st, 2020

Red Rising meets The Scorpio Races in this epic fantasy following three phoenix horse riders--skilled at alchemy--who must compete at The Races--the modern spectacle that has replaced warfare within their empire.


Millionaires for the Month Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780593175255
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - September 1st, 2020

How would you spend five million dollars in 30 days? A billionaire's wallet, a bizarre challenge, and an unlikely friendship send two kids on a wild adventure. From the author of The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl.


Going Down Home with Daddy Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781561459384
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: Peachtree Publishing Company - April 1st, 2019

A 2020 CALDECOTT HONOR BOOK

Set at one young boy's annual family reunion, this Caldecott Honor-winning picture book by Kelly Starling Lyons and Daniel Minter is a rich and moving celebration of Black history, culture, and the power of family traditions.


The Class Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481481793
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books - October 8th, 2019

Twenty Kids. Twenty points of view. One rambunctious, brilliantly conceived novel that corrals the seeming chaos (c’mon, TWENTY points of view!) into one effervescent story.

Sixth grade is a MOST confusing time. Best friends aren’t friends anymore. Worst enemies suddenly want to be partners in crime.


Citizen Baby: My Vote Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781524793128
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: Penguin Workshop - May 5th, 2020

Get to know the voting process with Citizen Baby!

Citizen Baby knows a thing or two about voting. It's important to meet the candidates (they love babies!) and to call voters. Plus, you get a sticker at the polls! Children and adults alike will enjoy learning about voting in this adorable, informative board book.


Staff Pick Badge
I Am Every Good Thing Cover Image
By Derrick Barnes, Gordon C. James (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525518778
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - September 1st, 2020

An upbeat, empowering, important picture book from the team that created the award-winning Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut

I am
a nonstop ball of energy.
Powerful and full of light.
I am a go-getter. A difference maker. A leader.


Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky (A Tristan Strong Novel, Book 1) Cover Image
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9781368042413
Availability: Backordered
Published: Rick Riordan Presents - September 22nd, 2020

Winner of a Coretta Scott King Author Honor

Best-selling author Rick Riordan presents Kwame Mbalia's epic fantasy, a middle grade American Gods set in a richly-imagined world populated with African American folk heroes and West African gods.


Bread for Words: A Frederick Douglass Story Cover Image
By Shana Keller, Kayla Stark (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781534110014
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: Sleeping Bear Press - January 15th, 2020

Smack Dab in the Middle of Maybe Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780399557415
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: Yearling - July 30th, 2019

Eleven days. Thirteen clues. And one kid who won't give up. Smack Dab in the Middle of Maybe is "part treasure hunt, part wilderness adventure, and all heart."--Alan Gratz, New York Times Bestselling author of Refugee

How far would you go to find something that might not even exist?


Everybody Says Meow Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062689887
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: HarperCollins - November 5th, 2019

“The messages of inclusion and acceptance are welcome. An enjoyable addition to noisy storytimes.” Kirkus


Through the Wardrobe: How C. S. Lewis Created Narnia Cover Image
By Lina Maslo, Lina Maslo (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062798565
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 19th, 2020

A lyrical nonfiction picture book about the inspired life of C. S. Lewis, the beloved author of the Chronicles of Narnia—from Free as a Bird author-illustrator Lina Maslo. Perfect for fans of The Important Thing About Margaret Wise Brown and Some Writer!: The Story of E.B. White.


We Bought a WWII Bomber: The Untold Story of A Michigan High School a B-17 Bomber & The Blue Ridge Parkway! Cover Image
$12.95
ISBN: 9781880175064
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: Arlie Enterprises - July 30th, 2015

Finalist 2016 Next Generation Indie Book Awards During WWII, to help fund the war effort, junior high and senior high students at South High School in Grand Rapids, Michigan took part in the "Buy a Bomber" program raising over $375,000 selling War Bonds and Defense Loan Stamps and bought a B-17 Bomber.


The Last Cherry Blossom Cover Image
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9781510753440
Availability: Backordered
Published: Sky Pony - August 25th, 2020

"Set in the waning days of World War II Hiroshima, this is an extraordinary story with its universal themes of family, life, and love. . . " —Sandra Dallas, New York Times bestselling author of Red Berries, White Clouds, Blue Skies

Yuriko was happy growing up in Hiroshima when it was just her and Papa.