NC Humanities Book Club

NC Humanities Book Club is a public book club.

To join the discussion and get more information go to https://nchumanities.org/program/north-carolina-reads/

Book club members, make sure to mention your book club when checking out in-store at Bookmarks to save 20% off your book club purchases.  

Upcoming Selections:

  • February 2024: Beyond Innocence: The Life Sentence of Daryl Hunt by Phoebe Zerwick
  • March: Poster Girl  by Meredith Ritchie
  • AprilAmerican Refuge: True Stories of the Refugee Experience By Diya Abdo
  • May: Violin Conspiracy by Brendan Slocumb
  • June: Welcome to the Circus of Baseball by Ryan McGee
Beyond Innocence: The Life Sentence of Darryl Hunt By Phoebe Zerwick Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9780802159380
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grove Press - March 14th, 2023

A deeply reported, gripping narrative of injustice, exoneration, and the lifelong impact of incarceration, Beyond Innocence is the poignant saga of one remarkable life that sheds vitally important light on the failures of the American justice system at every levelIn June 1985, a young Black man in Winston-Salem, N.C.


Poster Girl: A Novel By Veronica Roth Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780358164098
Availability: Available to order; typically arrives at Bookmarks in 5-10 days
Published: William Morrow - October 18th, 2022

“If you enjoy worst-case scenarios involving technology and morality gone wrong, this novel gives you plenty to sink your teeth into. In addition to being alarming, it’s also a fun read.” — New York Times Book Review


American Refuge: True Stories of the Refugee Experience (Truth to Power) By Diya Abdo Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781586423421
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Steerforth Press / Truth to Power - September 6th, 2022

“A moving and timely book that strips away misleading politics to reveal the complexities of real human lives." — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

A provocative, conversation-sparking exploration of refugee experiences told in their own words, for readers of Karla Cornejo Villavicencio’s The Undocumented Americans and Viet Thanh Nguyen


The Violin Conspiracy: A Novel (Good Morning America Book Club) By Brendan Slocumb Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593315422
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - December 6th, 2022

GOOD MORNING AMERICA BOOK CLUB PICK! • Ray McMillian is a Black classical musician on the rise—undeterred by the pressure and prejudice of the classical music worldwhen a shocking theft sends him on a desperate quest to recover his great-great-grandfather’s heirloom violin on the eve of the most prestigious musical competition in the world.


Welcome to the Circus of Baseball: A Story of the Perfect Summer at the Perfect Ballpark at the Perfect Time By Ryan McGee Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9780385548403
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Doubleday - April 4th, 2023

A gloriously funny, nostalgic memoir of a popular ESPN reporter who, in the summer of 1994, was a fresh-out-of-college intern for a minor league baseball team. Madness and charm ensue as Ryan McGee spends the season steeped in sweat, fertilizer, nacho cheese sauce, and pure, unadulterated joy in North Carolina with the Asheville Tourists.