(Mostly) Southern Authors Book Club

(Mostly) Southern Authors Book Club welcomes readers. The group meets on the third Thursday at 6 p.m. from September to May. Contact Kay Windsor for more information: kehwindsor1@gmail.com.

Book club members, make sure to mention your book club when checking out at Bookmarks to save 20% off your book club purchases or use your coupon code for online purchases. Ask your book club coordinator for details or email bookstore manager Beth Seufer Buss at beth@bookmarksnc.org

Upcoming Book Club Selections:

  • October 17: Educated by Tara Westover
  • November 21: Just Mercy by Bryan Stephenson
  • December 19: The Lost Book of the Grail by Charlies C. Lovett
  • January 16: Unsheltered by Barbara Kingsolver
  • February 20: Trail of Tears by John Ehle
  • March 19: The Movie Goer by Walker Percy
  • April 16: Where the Crawdads Sing by Della Owens
  • May 21: Fair and Tender Ladies by Lee Smith
Staff Pick Badge
Educated: A Memoir Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780399590504
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: Random House - February 20th, 2018

#1 NEW YORK TIMES, WALL STREET JOURNAL, AND BOSTON GLOBE BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW • ONE OF PRESIDENT BARACK OBAMA’S FAVORITE BOOKS OF THE YEAR • BILL GATES’S HOLIDAY READING LIST • FINALIST FOR THE NATIONAL BOO


Staff Pick Badge
Just Mercy: A Story of Justice and Redemption Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780812984965
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: Spiegel & Grau - August 18th, 2015

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A powerful true story about the potential for mercy to redeem us, and a clarion call to fix our broken system of justice—from one of the most brilliant and influential lawyers of our time, as seen in the HBO documentary True Justice


Staff Pick Badge
The Lost Book of the Grail: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780399562532
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: Penguin Books - February 27th, 2018

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Bookman’s Tale comes a new novel about an obsessive bibliophile’s quest through time to discover a missing manuscript, the unknown history of an English Cathedral, and the secret of the Holy Grail


Unsheltered: A Novel Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9780062684561
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: Harper - October 16th, 2018

New York Times bestseller

An NPR pick for Best Books of 2018

An O, The Oprah Magazine's Best Book of 2018

A San Francisco Chronicle Best Book of 2018

One of Christian Science Monitor's best fiction reads of 2018


Trail of Tears: The Rise and Fall of the Cherokee Nation Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9780385239547
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: Anchor - September 22nd, 1997

A sixth-generation North Carolinian, highly-acclaimed author John Ehle grew up on former Cherokee hunting grounds. His experience as an accomplished novelist, combined with his extensive, meticulous research, culminates in this moving tragedy rich with historical detail.


The Moviegoer: A Novel (FSG Classics) Cover Image
By Walker Percy, Paul Elie (Afterword by)
$16.00
ISBN: 9780374214524
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - January 15th, 2019

Winner of the 1962 National Book Award and one of Time magazine’s 100 Best English-Language Novels, Walker Percy’s debut The Moviegoer is an American masterpiece and a classic of Southern literature. Insightful, romantic, and humorous, it is the story of a young man’s search for meaning amid a shallow consumerist landscape.


Where the Crawdads Sing Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780735219090
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - August 14th, 2018

#1 New York Times Bestseller
More than 4 million copies sold
A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon

"Painfully beautiful."--The New York Times Book Review

"Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."--Bustle


Fair and Tender Ladies Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780425230459
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: Berkley - July 5th, 2011

Ivy Rowe, Virginia mountain girl, then wife, mother, and finally "Mawmaw," never strays far from her home-but the letters she writes take her across the country and over the ocean. Writing "to hold onto what's passing," she tells stories that are rich with the life of Appalachia in words that are colloquial, often misspelled, but always beautiful.