Murder & Margaritas with Stuart Turton

Our series celebrating mystery/thriller authors and their books returns this month with a guest from overseas! Stuart Turton, whose debut novel The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle was a smash hit, is once again making waves with a historical thriller set at sea. 

This is a pay-what-you-can event. Attendance is available to those who purchase a copy of The Devil and the Dark Water or make a donation to Bookmarks below.

Please note: The Bookmarks team processes each order individually, including event registrations. Within one day of your order placement, a team member will register you for the event and you will receive a separate email (to this same email address) with the event login and password. Although we do our best to process same-day event orders, if your order is placed within 24 hours of an event start time, we cannot guarantee that you will receive event log in information in time to watch the event. For Crowdcast events, you can access the recording after the live broadcast. 

About Stuart Turton:
Stuart Turton is a freelance journalist who lives in West London with his wife. The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle was his first novel and received the Costa Best First Novel Award.

About The Devil and the Dark Water:
A murder on the high seas. A remarkable detective duo. A demon who may or may not exist.

It's 1634 and Samuel Pipps, the world's greatest detective, is being transported to Amsterdam to be executed for a crime he may, or may not, have committed. Travelling with him is his loyal bodyguard, Arent Hayes, who is determined to prove his friend innocent.

But no sooner are they out to sea than devilry begins to blight the voyage. A twice-dead leper stalks the decks. Strange symbols appear on the sails. Livestock is slaughtered. Anyone could be to blame. Even a demon.

And then three passengers are marked for death, including Samuel.

With Pipps imprisoned, only Arent can solve a mystery that connects every passenger. A mystery that stretches back into their past and now threatens to sink the ship, killing everybody on board.

For fans of Steven King, The Devil and the Dark Water brings a chilling new spin to the Sherlock Holmes detective duo in a thriller of supernatural horror, occult suspicion, and paranormal mystery on the high seas.

By registering and attending this event, you agree to have your email address added to our newsletter distribution list. You may opt out at any time.

Please be aware of our Code of Conduct:
Bookmarks has a zero tolerance policy for harassment of any kind in person or social media, including but not limited to: Stalking; intimidation; offensive verbal comments; physical assault and/or battery; harassing or non-consensual photography or recording; sustained disruption of programs, panels, signings, and other events; bathroom policing; inappropriate physical contact; and unwelcome physical attention, in relation to, but not limited to: race, color, national origin, gender, gender identity, gender presentation, sexual orientation, age, body size, ability, appearance, religion, citizenship, pregnancy. If a person engages in harassing behavior, Bookmarks Staff will take prompt action in any form they deem appropriate, including but not limited to expulsion from the Bookmarks sponsored event or premises. This policy applies to everyone (exhibitors, attendees, authors, speakers, guests, press, staff, board members, and volunteers) at all of Bookmarks events and programming. Anyone can report harassment. If someones behavior has made you uncomfortable, or if you witness the same happening to someone else, you should immediately contact Bookmarks staff or security. In this virtual landscape, we ask that you remain respectful as you would for an in person event. We will remove and ban you from virtual events if you submit any inappropriate content, offensive or of any nature that does not pertain to the event visually, verbally, or in written content. If removed from the event, you will not receive a refund of any kind.

Event date: 
Friday, November 6, 2020 - 4:00pm
Event address: 
The Devil and the Dark Water Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781728206028
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: Sourcebooks Landmark - October 6th, 2020

"Compulsively readable."--New York Times Book Review

The extraordinary new thriller from Stuart Turton, author of the bestselling murder mystery The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle, winner of the Costa Best First Novel Award.


$0.00
SKU: DN00000001
$