Melissa's Book Club

Melissa's Book Club is a private book club.

Book club members, make sure to mention your book club when checking out in-store at Bookmarks to save 20% off your book club purchases.  

Upcoming Selections:

February: Blacktop Wasteland by S.A. Cosby

March: Parachutes by Kelly Yang

April: Piranesi by Susanna Clarke

May: Things in Jars by Jess Kidd

June: The Topeka School by Ben Lerner

July: Such a Fun Age by Kiley Reid

August: The Water Dancer by Ta-Nehisi Coates

September: Black Widow by Cate Quinn

October: The Bedlam Stacks by Natasha Pulley

November - The Most Fun We Ever Had Claire Lombardo

December: The Dancing Girls by M. M. Chouinard

 

Parachutes Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062941084
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - May 26th, 2020

Speak enters the world of Gossip Girl in this modern immigrant story from New York Times bestselling author Kelly Yang about two girls navigating wealth, power, friendship, and trauma.


Blacktop Wasteland: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250252685
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: Flatiron Books - July 14th, 2020

Los Angeles Times Book Prize Winner • New York Times Notable Book • NPR’s Best Books of 2020 • BookPage’s #1 Mystery and Suspense of 2020 • Sun Sentinel’s #1 Best Mystery of 2020
“I loved Blacktop Wasteland...[A] fast-paced, bareknuckle thriller.” -Stephen King


Piranesi Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781635575637
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - September 15th, 2020

New York Times Bestseller
Winner of the Women's Prize for Fiction
World Fantasy Awards Finalist

From the New York Times bestselling author of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, an intoxicating, hypnotic new novel set in a dreamlike alternative reality.


Staff Pick Badge
Things in Jars: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781982121297
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Washington Square Press - September 29th, 2020

In this “miraculous and thrilling” (Diane Setterfield, #1 New York Times bestselling author) mystery for fans of The Essex Serpent and The Book of Speculation, Victorian London comes to life as an intrepid female sleuth wades through a murky world of collectors and criminals to recover a remarkable child.

Bridie Devine—flame-haired, pipe-smoking


The Topeka School: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781250758002
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador - September 29th, 2020

FINALIST FOR THE PULITZER PRIZE

WINNER OF THE LOS ANGELES TIMES BOOK PRIZE

ONE OF THE
NEW YORK TIMES TOP TEN BOOKS OF THE YEAR

A TIME, GQ, Vulture, and WASHINGTON POST TOP 10 BOOK of the YEAR
ONE OF BARACK OBAMA'S FAVORITE BOOKS OF THE YEAR


Staff Pick Badge
Such a Fun Age Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780525541912
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - April 20th, 2021

A Best Book of the Year:


Staff Pick Badge
Such a Fun Age Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780525541905
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - December 31st, 2019

A Best Book of the Year:


Staff Pick Badge
The Water Dancer: A Novel Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780399590610
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: One World - November 17th, 2020

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • OPRAH’S BOOK CLUB PICK • From the National Book Award–winning author of Between the World and Me, a boldly conjured debut novel about a magical gift, a devastating loss, and an underground war for freedom.


Black Widows Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781728220468
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: Sourcebooks Landmark - February 9th, 2021

While Quinn writes with spirit on weighty subjects like domestic abuse, polygamy and religious cults, her primary and most poignant theme seems to be female friendship. --New York Times Book Review


The Bedlam Stacks Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781620409695
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - May 15th, 2018

An Indie Next Pick

Now in paperback, Natasha Pulley's "witty, entrancing novel . . . burnishes her reputation as a gifted storyteller" (Publishers Weekly, starred review).


The Most Fun We Ever Had: A Novel Cover Image
$28.95
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780385544252
Published: Doubleday - June 25th, 2019

“A gripping and poignant ode to a messy, loving family in all its glory.” —Madeline Miller, New York Times bestselling author of Circe
 
A New York Times Bestseller
Longlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction

 


The Dancing Girls: An absolutely gripping crime thriller with nail-biting suspense Cover Image
$10.99
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9781786818249
Published: Bookouture - May 15th, 2019

'Loved it, loved it, loved it ... If I could give it 6 stars I would In this current climate of 'twists you will never see coming' - believe me... you will never see this coming ... Cannot wait for the next book ... Best book I have read for some time.' NetGalley Reviewer, 5 stars