Melissa's Book Club

Melissa's Book Club is a public book club. If you are interested in joining, please contact Jenny Lawrence at jlawrence1@gmail.com  Link to our club on the Bookclubs app: https://bookclubs.com/clubs/27775/join/32fbde/

Book club members, make sure to mention your book club when checking out in-store at Bookmarks to save 20% off your book club purchases.  

Upcoming 2024 Selections:

  • January: When Women Were Dragons by Kelly Barnhill
  • February: Beauty: A Retelling of Beauty and the Beast by Robin McKinley
  • March: Mad Honey  by Jodi Picoult and Jennifer Finney Boylan
  • April: Marrying the Ketchups by Jennifer Close
  • May: Book Lovers by Emily Henry
  • June: Eliza Hamilton: The Extraordinary Life and times of the Wife of Alexander Hamilton by Tilar J. Mazzeo
  • July: The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah
  • August: All the Rivers by Dorit Rabinyan
  • September: The Immortalists by Chloe Benjamin
  • October: The Vicious Circle by Katherine St. John
  • November: The Change by Kirsten Miller
  • December: The Christmas Pearl by Dorothea Benton Frank 

 

When Women Were Dragons: A Novel By Kelly Barnhill Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593466575
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Anchor - May 16th, 2023

A GOODREADS BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR • A fiery feminist fantasy tale set in 1950s America where thousands of women have spontaneously transformed into dragons, exploding notions of a woman’s place in the world and expanding minds about accepting others for who they really are.
 


Beauty: A Retelling of Beauty and the Beast By Robin McKinley Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062803450
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Greenwillow Books - June 19th, 2018

From Newbery Medal–winning author Robin McKinley, this beloved story illuminates an unlikely love story—Beauty and the Beast. This fortieth-anniversary edition features a striking new package for the award-winning novel. Publishers Weekly called Beauty “A splendid story.”


Mad Honey: A Novel By Jodi Picoult, Jennifer Finney Boylan Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781984818409
Availability: Available to order; typically arrives at Bookmarks in 5-10 days
Published: Ballantine Books - September 5th, 2023

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • “Alternatingly heart-pounding and heartbreaking. This collaboration between two best-selling authors seamlessly weaves together Olivia and Lily’s journeys, creating a provocative exploration of the strength that love and acceptance require.”—The Washington Post
 


Marrying the Ketchups: A novel (Vintage Contemporaries) By Jennifer Close Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593081389
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - April 25th, 2023

An irresistible comedy of manners about three generations of a Chicago restaurant family and the deep-fried, beer-battered, cream cheese-frosted love that feeds them all—from the best-selling author of Girls in White Dresses


Book Lovers By Emily Henry Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593334836
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - May 3rd, 2022

“One of my favorite authors.”—Colleen Hoover

An insightful, delightful, instant #1 New York Times bestseller from the author of Beach Read and People We Meet on Vacation.


Eliza Hamilton: The Extraordinary Life and Times of the Wife of Alexander Hamilton By Tilar J. Mazzeo Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781501166341
Availability: Available to order; typically arrives at Bookmarks in 5-10 days
Published: Gallery Books - July 2nd, 2019

From the New York Times bestselling author of Irena’s Children comes a “vivid, compelling, and unputdownable new biography” (Christopher Andersen, #1 New York Times bestselling author) about the extraordinary life and times of Eliza Hamilton, the wife of founding father Alexander Hamilton, and a powerful, unsung hero in America’s early days.


The Great Alone: A Novel By Kristin Hannah Cover Image
$19.00
ISBN: 9781250229533
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - September 24th, 2019

#1 New York Times Instant Bestseller

In Kristin Hannah’s The Great Alone, a desperate family seeks a new beginning in the near-isolated wilderness of Alaska only to find that their unpredictable environment is less threatening than the erratic behavior found in human nature.


All the Rivers: A Novel By Dorit Rabinyan, Jessica Cohen (Translated by) Cover Image
By Dorit Rabinyan, Jessica Cohen (Translated by)
$27.00
ISBN: 9780375508295
Availability: Available to order; typically arrives at Bookmarks in 5-10 days
Published: Random House - April 25th, 2017

A controversial, award-winning story about the passionate but untenable affair between an Israeli woman and a Palestinian man, from one of Israel’s most acclaimed novelists


The Immortalists By Chloe Benjamin Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780735215092
Availability: Available to order; typically arrives at Bookmarks in 5-10 days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - February 5th, 2019

A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR: Washington Post • NPR • Entertainment Weekly • Real Simple • Marie Claire • New York Public Library • LibraryReads • The Skimm &bull


The Vicious Circle: A Novel By Katherine St. John Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780063224063
Availability: Available to order; typically arrives at Bookmarks in 5-10 days
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - October 10th, 2023

For fans of Lucy Foley and Liane Moriarty, a twisty, escapist suspense about a mysterious retreat center harboring violent secrets.


The Change: A Good Morning America Book Club PIck By Kirsten Miller Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780063144057
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - August 22nd, 2023

GOOD MORNING AMERICA BOOK CLUB PICK 

"The Change is like a guttural rage scream (and somehow a soft, tearful hug) of a book, and I couldn't have loved it any more." --Emily Henry


The Christmas Pearl By Dorothea Benton Frank Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780061438486
Availability: Available to order; typically arrives at Bookmarks in 5-10 days
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - October 27th, 2009

Still spry at ninety-three, Theodora has lived long enough to see her family grow into an insufferable bunch of truculent knuckleheads. Having finally gathered the whole bickering brood together for the holidays at her South Carolina home, the grand matriarch pines wistfully for those extravagant, homey Christmases of her childhood.