Mad Women Book Club

Mad Women Book Club is a private book club.

Book club members, make sure to mention your book club when checking out in-store at Bookmarks to save 20% off your book club purchases.  

Upcoming Selections:

  • January 2023: The Secret History by Donna Tart
  • February: The Color Purple by Alice Walker
  • March: Cleopatra and Frankenstein by Coco Mellors
  • April: Notes of a Crocodile by Qui Miaojin
  • May: I'm Glad My Mom Died by Jeanette McCurdy
  • April: Big Swiss by Jen Beagen
The Secret History (Vintage Contemporaries) By Donna Tartt Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781400031702
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - April 13th, 2004

A READ WITH JENNA BOOK CLUB PICK • ONE OF TIME MAGAZINE'S 100 BEST MYSTERY AND THRILLER BOOKS OF ALL TIME • INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER • A contemporary literary classic and "an accomplished psychological thriller ...


The Color Purple: A Novel By Alice Walker Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780143135692
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - December 10th, 2019

Read the original inspiration for the new, boldly reimagined film from producers Oprah Winfrey and Steven Spielberg, starring Taraji P. Henson, Danielle Brooks, and Fantasia Barrino.


Cleopatra and Frankenstein By Coco Mellors Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781635576818
Availability: Available to order; typically arrives at Bookmarks in 5-10 days
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - February 8th, 2022

The smash National bestseller and Goodreads Choice Award finalist--perfect for readers of Modern Lovers and Conversations with Friends. An addictive, humorous, and poignant debut novel about the shock waves caused by one couple’s impulsive marriage.


Notes of a Crocodile (NYRB Classics) By Qiu Miaojin, Bonnie Huie (Translated by) Cover Image
By Qiu Miaojin, Bonnie Huie (Translated by)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781681370767
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: NYRB Classics - May 2nd, 2017

WINNER OF THE 2018 LUCIEN STRYK ASIAN TRANSLATION PRIZE



The English-language premiere of Qiu Miaojin's coming-of-age novel about queer teenagers in Taiwan, a cult classic in China and winner of the 1995 China Times Literature Award.

An NYRB Classics Original


I'm Glad My Mom Died By Jennette McCurdy Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781982185824
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - August 9th, 2022

* #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * #1 INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER * MORE THAN 2 MILLION COPIES SOLD!

A heartbreaking and hilarious memoir by iCarly and Sam & Cat star Jennette McCurdy about her struggles as a former child actor—including eating disorders, addiction, and a complicated relationship with her overbearing mother—and how she retook co


Big Swiss: A Novel By Jen Beagin Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781982153083
Availability: Available to order; typically arrives at Bookmarks in 5-10 days
Published: Scribner - February 7th, 2023

NATIONAL BESTSELLER AND CULT FAVORITE

Named a Best Book of the Year by the New Yorker, Time, NPR, Vogue, Elle, Cosmopolitan, Huffington Post, NBC News, Lit Hub, theSkimm, Condé Nast Traveler, Town & Country, and more!

“One of the funniest books of the last few years” (Los Angeles Times)