IF Horror Book Club

Intersectional Feminist Horror Book is open to the public!


Feminism is for everyone! We welcome all genders and identities and are
committed to creating a space that stands in defiance of a white supremacist
patriarchy.

We will be reading books from the horror genre and happily define horror as
widely as possible.

We meet on the 3rd Sunday afternoon of every month at Footnote. You can find
us on Facebook at IF HORROR BOOK CLUB.

Let’s get SCARY!

Book club members, make sure to mention your book club when checking out in-store at Bookmarks to save 20% off your book club purchases.  

Upcoming Selections:

 

  • September 17 at 3p - The Women Could Fly by Megan Giddings
  • October 15 at 3p - She is a Haunting by Trang Thanh Tran
  • November 19 - Her Body & Other Parties by Carmen Maria Machado
  • December 17 - Lone Women by Victor Lavalle
  • January 21 - The Final Girl Support Group by Grady Hendrix
  • February 18 - The Devourers by Indra Das
  • March 17 - Maeve Fly by CJ Leede.
  • April 21 - Hell Follow With Us by Andrew Joseph White
  • May 19 - Silver Nitrate by Silvia Moreno-Garcia
  • June 16- The Death of Jane Lawrence by Caitlin Starling

 

The Women Could Fly: A Novel By Megan Giddings Cover Image
$26.99
Unavailable in store; contact staff@bookmarksnc.org to check price and order availability
ISBN: 9780063116993
Published: Amistad - August 9th, 2022

Reminiscent of the works of Margaret Atwood, Shirley Jackson, and Octavia Butler, a biting social commentary from the acclaimed author of Lakewood that speaks to our times—a piercing dystopian novel about the unbreakable bond between a young woman and her mysterious mother, set in a world in which witches are real and single women are closely monitored.


She Is a Haunting By Trang Thanh Tran Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781547610815
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury YA - February 28th, 2023

William C. Morris Debut Award Finalist
Instant New York Times and Indie Bestseller

This house eats and is eaten . . .


Her Body and Other Parties: Stories By Carmen Maria Machado Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781555977887
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - October 3rd, 2017

Finalist for the National Book Award for Fiction

“[These stories] vibrate with originality, queerness, sensuality and the strange.”—Roxane Gay

“In these formally brilliant and emotionally charged tales, Machado gives literal shape to women’s memories and hunger and desire. I couldn’t put it down.”—Karen Russell


Lone Women: A Novel By Victor LaValle Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780525512080
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: One World - March 28th, 2023

NATIONAL BESTSELLER • Blue skies, empty land—and enough wide-open space to hide a horrifying secret. A woman with a past, a mysterious trunk, a town on the edge of nowhere, and an “absorbing, powerful” (BuzzFeed) new vision of the American West, from the award-winning author of The Changeling.


The Final Girl Support Group By Grady Hendrix Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593201244
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - June 14th, 2022

THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

VOTED GOODREADS CHOICE AWARD BEST HORROR NOVEL OF 2021

A Good Morning America Buzz Pick

“The horror master…puts his unique spin on slasher movie tropes.”-USA Today


Staff Pick Badge
The Devourers: A Novel By Indra Das Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781101967539
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Del Rey - February 21st, 2017

For readers of Neil Gaiman, Margaret Atwood, China Miéville, and David Mitchell comes a striking debut novel by a storyteller of keen insight and captivating imagination.

LAMBDA LITERARY AWARD WINNER • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE WASHINGTON POST


Maeve Fly By CJ Leede Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250857859
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Nightfire - June 6th, 2023

Winner of the Golden Poppy Octavia E. Butler Award!
A Bram Stoker and Splatterpunk Award Nominee!
One of Esquire's Best Horror Books of the Year!
An Indie Next Pick!

"This is gory and brutal and beautiful and painful and terrifying and a pure delight."—Stephen Graham Jones


Hell Followed with Us By Andrew Joseph White Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781682635636
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Peachtree Teen - May 9th, 2023

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

A furious, queer debut novel about embracing the monster within and unleashing its power against your oppressors.


"A long, sustained scream to the various strains of anti-transgender legislation multiplying around the world like, well, a virus." —The New York Times


Silver Nitrate By Silvia Moreno-Garcia Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593355367
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Del Rey - July 18th, 2023

NATIONAL BESTSELLER • From the author of The Daughter of Doctor Moreau and Mexican Gothic comes a fabulous meld of Mexican horror movies and Nazi occultism: a dark thriller about the curse that haunts a legendary lost film—and awakens one woman’s hidden powers.


The Death of Jane Lawrence: A Novel By Caitlin Starling Cover Image
$19.00
ISBN: 9781250769589
Availability: Available to order; typically arrives at Bookmarks in 5-10 days
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - October 4th, 2022

***AN INSTANT BESTSELLER!***
Best Books of 2021 ·
NPR
ALA/The Reading List Best Horror 2021 Pick
Longlisted for the Bram Stoker Awards for Superior Achievement in a Novel, 2021


From the Bram Stoker-nominated author of The Luminous Dead comes a gothic fantasy horror
The Death of Jane Lawrence.