Breakaway Book Club

The Breakaway Book Club is currently seeking new book club members. Please email Lauren at lauren.reveri@gmail.com for more information.

Book club members, make sure to mention your book club when checking out in-store at Bookmarks to save 20% off your book club purchases.  

Upcoming Selections: 

February: Mrs. March by Virginia Feito

March: How the One-Armed Sister Sweeps Her House by Cherie Jones

April:  Abundance by Jacob Guanzon

May: The Magician by Colm Toibin

June: Lincoln Highway by Amor Towles

July: The 100 Years of Lenni and Margot by Marianne Cronin

August: Headlong by Michael Frayne

September: The Farm by Joanne Ramos

October: The First Woman by Jennifer Makumbi 

 

 

Mrs. March: A Novel By Virginia Feito Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781631498619
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Liveright - August 10th, 2021

“I read Virginia’s novel in one sitting and was so captured by it I knew I had to make it and play Mrs. March. As a character, she is fascinating, complex, and deeply human and I can’t wait to sink my teeth into her.” —Elisabeth Moss

Oprah Daily • Best Books of the Year
New York Times Book Review • Editors’ Choice
USA Today • Books Not to Miss


How the One-Armed Sister Sweeps Her House: A Novel By Cherie Jones Cover Image
$27.00
Email staff@bookmarksnc.org for price & availability
ISBN: 9780316536981
Published: Little, Brown and Company - February 2nd, 2021

In the tradition of Zadie Smith and Marlon James, a brilliant Caribbean writer delivers a powerful story about four people each desperate to escape their legacy of violence in a so-called "paradise."

In Baxter’s Beach, Barbados, Lala’s grandmother Wilma tells the story of the one-armed sister.


Abundance: A Novel By Jakob Guanzon Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781644450468
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - March 2nd, 2021

Longlisted for the National Book Award for Fiction

A wrenching debut about the causes and effects of poverty, as seen by a father and son living in a pickup


The Magician: A Novel By Colm Toibin Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781476785080
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner - September 7th, 2021

A New York Times Notable Book, Critic’s Top Pick, and Top Ten Book of Historical Fiction

Named a Best Book of the Year by The Washington Post, NPR, Vogue, The Wall Street Journal, and Bloomberg Businessweek

From one of today’s most brilliant and beloved novelists, a dazzling, epic family saga set a


The Lincoln Highway: A Novel By Amor Towles Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780735222359
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking - October 5th, 2021

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

More than ONE MILLION copies sold

A TODAY Show Read with Jenna Book Club Pick


A New York Times Notable Book, and Chosen by Oprah Daily, Time, NPR, The Washington Post and Barack Obama as a Best Book of the Year


The One Hundred Years of Lenni and Margot: A Novel By Marianne Cronin Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780063017504
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: Harper Perennial - June 1st, 2021

“A beautiful debut, funny, tender, and animated by a willingness to confront life’s obstacles and find a way to survive. . . . It celebrates friendship, finds meaning in difficulty and lets the reader explore dark places while always allowing for the possibility of light.


Headlong: A Novel By Michael Frayn Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9780312267469
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador - September 1st, 2000

An unlikely con man wagers wife, wealth, and sanity in pursuit of an elusive Old Master.


The Farm: A Novel By Joanne Ramos Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781984853776
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks - April 28th, 2020

NATIONAL BESTSELLER • Life is a lucrative business, as long as you play by the rules.

Skimm Reads Pick • People Book of the Week • Belletrist Book Pick • “[Joanne] Ramos’s debut novel couldn’t be more relevant or timely.”—O: The Oprah Magazine