Breakaway Book Club

The Breakaway Book Club is currently seeking new book club members. Please email Lauren at lauren.reveri@gmail.com for more information.

Book club members, make sure to mention your book club when checking out in-store at Bookmarks to save 20% off your book club purchases.  

Upcoming Selections: 

September: Firekeeper's Daughter by Angeline Boulley

October: Life After Life by Kate Atkinson

NovemberThe Ten Thousand Doors of January by Alix E Harrow

DecemberHarlem Shuffle by Colson Whitehead 

JanuaryThe Extraordinary Life of Sam Hill by Robert Dugoni (Title unavailable at Bookmarks, check out bookshop.org to find a copy while still supporting local independent bookstores!)

February: Mrs. March by Virginia Feito

March: How the One-Armed Sister Sweeps Her House by Cherie Jones

 

 

Firekeeper's Daughter Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250766564
Availability: For availability, email staff@bookmarksnc.org
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - March 16th, 2021

A REESE WITHERSPOON x HELLO SUNSHINE BOOK CLUB YA PICK

An Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller

Soon to be adapted at Netflix for TV with President Barack Obama and Michelle Obama's production company, Higher Ground.

“One of this year's most buzzed about young adult novels.” —Good Morning America


Life After Life: A Novel Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780316176491
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Back Bay Books - January 7th, 2014

What if you could live again and again, until you got it right?


Staff Pick Badge
The Ten Thousand Doors of January Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316421973
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Redhook - May 12th, 2020

"A gorgeous, aching love letter to stories, storytellers, and the doors they lead us through...absolutely enchanting."—Christina Henry, bestselling author of Alice and Lost Boys

LOS ANGELES TIMES BESTSELLER!


Harlem Shuffle: A Novel Cover Image
$28.95
ISBN: 9780385545136
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Doubleday - September 14th, 2021

NEW YORK TIMES BEST SELLER • From the two-time Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Underground Railroad and The Nickel Boys, a gloriously entertaining novel of heists, shakedowns, and rip-offs set in Harlem in the 1960s.


Mrs. March: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781631498619
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: Liveright - August 10th, 2021

“I read Virginia’s novel in one sitting and was so captured by it I knew I had to make it and play Mrs. March. As a character, she is fascinating, complex, and deeply human and I can’t wait to sink my teeth into her.” —Elisabeth Moss

A Jenny Lawson "Fantastic Strangeling Book Club" Selection
Oprah Daily • Best of the Month
USA Today • Books Not to Miss


How the One-Armed Sister Sweeps Her House: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316536981
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown and Company - February 2nd, 2021

In the tradition of Zadie Smith and Marlon James, a brilliant Caribbean writer delivers a powerful story about four people each desperate to escape their legacy of violence in a so-called "paradise."

In Baxter’s Beach, Barbados, Lala’s grandmother Wilma tells the story of the one-armed sister.