Bookmarks Book Club

Bookmarks Book Club is currently closed to new members. We hope that you will join our new Book Buzz Book Club instead.

Bookmarks Book Club meets on the last Tuesday of each month at 6:30pm to discuss fiction and non-fiction. Books sometimes include authors who will be attending or have attended Bookmarks' events. Meetings take place in the bookstore at 634 W. Fourth St. #110 in downtown Winston-Salem.

Upcoming Selections:

  • October 29 - A Woman of No Importance by Sonia Purnell
  • November 19 - Train to Pakistan by Khushwant Singh
  • December 17 - American Marriage by Tayari Jones
  • January 28 - Rules of Civility by Amor Towles
  • February 25 - Born a Crime by Trevor Noah
  • March 31 - Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens
  • April 28 - The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh
  • May 26 - Daisy Jones and the Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid
  • June 30 - Searching for Sylvie Lee by Jean Kwok
  • July 28 - Dominicana by Angie Cruz

Questions may be directed to jamie@bookmarksnc.org.

 

A Woman of No Importance: The Untold Story of the American Spy Who Helped Win World War II Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780735225299
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: Viking - April 9th, 2019

 A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

“Excellent…This book is as riveting as any thriller, and as hard to put down.” -- The New York Times Book Review

"A compelling biography of a masterful spy, and a reminder of what can be done with a few brave people -- and a little resistance." - NPR


Train to Pakistan Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780802132215
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: Grove Press - February 11th, 1994

"In the summer of 1947, when the creation of the state of Pakistan was formally announced, ten million people--Muslims and Hindus and Sikhs--were in flight. By the time the monsoon broke, almost a million of them were dead, and all of northern India was in arms, in terror, or in hiding. The only remaining oases of peace were a scatter of little villages lost in the remote reaches of the frontier.


Rules of Civility: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143121169
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: Penguin Books - June 26th, 2012

From the New York Times-bestselling author of A Gentleman in Moscow, a “sharply stylish” (Boston Globe) novel of a young woman in post-Depression era New York who suddenly finds herself thrust into high society—now with over one million readers worldwide


Staff Pick Badge
Born a Crime: Stories from a South African Childhood Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780399588198
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: Spiegel & Grau - February 12th, 2019

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The compelling, inspiring, and comically sublime story of one man’s coming-of-age, set during the twilight of apartheid and the tumultuous days of freedom that followed


Where the Crawdads Sing Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780735219090
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - August 14th, 2018

#1 New York Times Bestseller
More than 4 million copies sold
A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon

"Painfully beautiful."--The New York Times Book Review

"Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."--Bustle


The Language of Flowers: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780345525550
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: Ballantine Books - April 3rd, 2012

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
 


Staff Pick Badge
Daisy Jones & The Six: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781524798628
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: Ballantine Books - March 5th, 2019

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A gripping novel about the whirlwind rise of an iconic 1970s rock group and their beautiful lead singer, revealing the mystery behind their infamous breakup.


Staff Pick Badge
Searching for Sylvie Lee: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062834300
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: William Morrow - June 4th, 2019

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

A READ WITH JENNA • TODAY SHOW BOOK CLUB PICK 


Dominicana: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250205933
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: Flatiron Books - September 3rd, 2019

A GOOD MORNING AMERICA BOOK CLUB PICK

“Through a novel with so much depth, beauty, and grace, we, like Ana, are forever changed.” —Jacqueline Woodson, Vanity Fair

“Gorgeous writing, gorgeous story.” —Sandra Cisneros