The Switch: A Novel (Paperback)

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Switch: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


A grandmother and granddaughter swap lives in The Switch, a charming, romantic novel by Beth O’Leary, who has been hailed as “the new Jojo Moyes” (Cosmopolitan UK)...

When overachiever Leena Cotton is ordered to take a two-month sabbatical after blowing a big presentation at work, she escapes to her grandmother Eileen's house for some long-overdue rest.

Eileen is newly single and about to turn eighty. She'd like a second chance at love, but her tiny Yorkshire village doesn't offer many eligible gentlemen.

So they decide to try a two-month swap.

Eileen will live in London and look for love. She’ll take Leena’s flat, and learn all about casual dating, swiping right, and city neighbors. Meanwhile Leena will look after everything in rural Yorkshire: Eileen’s sweet cottage and garden, her idyllic, quiet village, and her little neighborhood projects.

But stepping into one another's shoes proves more difficult than either of them expected. Will swapping lives help Eileen and Leena find themselves…and maybe even find true love? In Beth O'Leary's The Switch, it's never too late to change everything....or to find yourself.

About the Author


Beth O’Leary worked in children's publishing before becoming a full-time author. She is the author of the Sunday Times bestselling novel The Flatshare, which has been translated into more than thirty languages.

Praise For…


The Switch brilliantly encompasses all the humor and whimsy of The Flatshare while delving into emotional topics like grief and the importance of watching out for neighbors. Charismatic Eileen stands out as the star of this witty, joyful show, illustrating that mature women need love, too.”
Booklist, starred review

"[A] cozy, hopeful escape that will make readers laugh, cry, or feel inspired." —Kirkus, starred review

The Switch was refreshing, engaging and thoroughly enjoyable. This story has everything you could ask for: witty characters, strong female relationships and a view about love that’d make anyone hopeful.” Helena Hunting, New York Times bestselling author

“I am SO LOVING The Switch! It's so sweet and uplifting
and SUCH a balm in these wretched times.” Marian Keyes, internationally bestselling author

“Reading this felt like checking in on old friends. A bright, life-affirming story with beautifully rich characters.” –Abby Jimenez, bestselling author of The Friend Zone

“I loved it! It was a total joy to read. I loved the concept, the relationship between Eileen and Leena and the wonderful cast of friends both in London and Yorkshire. And it was such a breath of fresh air to read about a 79-year old woman dating (and even – hurrah! – having sex!) The exact kind of thing I believe we need to see more of in books and films. Eileen gives me great hope for the future! I shall be recommending it to my friends.”
Libby Page, author of The Lido

Praise for Beth O’Leary:
“The new Jojo Moyes.”Cosmopolitan (UK)

“Perfect for fans of Helen Hoang's The Kiss Quotient and Sally Thorne's The Hating Game.—Booklist

“Add this to your summer reading list...Everyone needs to devour immediately." —USA Today

“Set to become the romcom of the year…a Sleepless In Seattle for the 21st century.”Sunday Express Magazine (UK)

“The novel equivalent of a cup of hot tea.—Refinery29

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250769862
ISBN-10: 1250769868
Publisher: Flatiron Books
Publication Date: August 18th, 2020
Pages: 336