A Tiger for Malgudi and the Man-Eater of Malgudi (Paperback)

A Tiger for Malgudi and the Man-Eater of Malgudi Cover Image
By R. K. Narayan, Pico Iyer (Introduction by)
Email or call for price.
Special Order


Two comic gems from the father of modern Indian fiction- available in one volume for the first time

These two novels show R. K. Narayan at his best, offering enchanting tales of human absurdity that are also skillfully woven parables infused with Hindu mysticism. A Tiger for Malgudi is told from the point of view of the tiger Raja, now old and toothless, who looks back on his life in the circus and in films, and on his dramatic bid to escape the brutish human world in a quest for freedom. The Man-Eater of Malgudi is the story of Nataraj, a mild-mannered printer who stands up to Vasu, a pugnacious taxidermist, when Vasu begins to covet the beloved temple elephant for his collection.

For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,700 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators.

About the Author

R. K. Narayan (1906–2001), born and educated in India, was the author of fourteen novels, numerous short stories and essays, a memoir, and three retold myths. His work, championed by Graham Greene, who became a close friend, was often compared to that of Dickens, Chekhov, Faulkner, and Flannery O'Connor, among others.

Praise For…

" Narayan's comedy . . . is classical art, profound in feeling and delicate in control."
-The New York Times Book Review

"Narayan is a first-rate storyteller."
-The New Yorker
Product Details
ISBN: 9780143105800
ISBN-10: 0143105809
Publisher: Penguin Classics
Publication Date: July 28th, 2009
Pages: 368
Language: English
Series: Penguin Classics