Backyard Book Club

Backyard Book Club is a public book club. For more information, please visit http://thebackyardbookclub.com/

Book club members, make sure to mention your book club when checking out in-store at Bookmarks to save 20% off your book club purchases.  

Upcoming Selections:

  • Feb - 2/26 10am Mushroom Cultivation Workshop at Miracle Grounds Farm at Crossnore:

    • Entangled Life by Merlin Sheldrake
    • DIY Mushroom Cultivation by Willoughby Arevalo
  • March - 3/22 6pm book discussion:

    • Planet (Kinship Series #1) by Gavin Van Horn
  • May - Place (Kinship Series #2) by Gavin Van Horn
  • July - Partners (Kinship Series #3) by Gavin Van Horn
  • September - Persons (Kinship Series #4) by Gavin Van Horn
  • November - Practice (Kinship Series #5) by Gavin Van Horn
Entangled Life: How Fungi Make Our Worlds, Change Our Minds & Shape Our Futures By Merlin Sheldrake Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780525510321
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks - April 13th, 2021

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A “brilliant [and] entrancing” (The Guardian) journey into the hidden lives of fungi—the great connectors of the living world—and their astonishing and intimate roles in human life, with the power to heal our bodies, expand our minds, and help us address our most urgent environmental problems.


DIY Mushroom Cultivation: Growing Mushrooms at Home for Food, Medicine, and Soil By Willoughby Arevalo Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9780865718951
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: New Society Publishers - July 16th, 2019

Offering clear and comprehensive instructions for low-tech growing for a range of budgets, interests, and scales, this book offers practical inspiration and a sense that hey, I can do this
--- DANIELLE STEVENSON, owner, DIY Fungi


Kinship: Belonging in a World of Relations, Vol. 1 - Planet By Gavin Van Horn (Editor), Robin Wall Kimmerer (Editor), John Hausdoerffer (Editor) Cover Image
By Gavin Van Horn (Editor), Robin Wall Kimmerer (Editor), John Hausdoerffer (Editor)
$22.00
ISBN: 9781736862506
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Center for Humans and Nature - September 15th, 2021

Volume 1 of the Kinship series revolves around the question of planetary relations What are the sources of our deepest evolutionary and planetary connections, and of our profound longing for kinship?


Kinship: Belonging in a World of Relations, Vol. 2 - Place By Gavin Van Horn (Editor), Robin Wall Kimmerer (Editor), John Hausdoerffer (Editor) Cover Image
By Gavin Van Horn (Editor), Robin Wall Kimmerer (Editor), John Hausdoerffer (Editor)
$22.00
ISBN: 9781736862513
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Center for Humans and Nature - September 15th, 2021

Volume 2 of the Kinship series revolves around the question of place-based relations To what extent does crafting a deeper connection with the Earth's bioregions reinvigorate a sense of kinship with the place-based beings, systems, and communities that mutually shape one another?


Kinship: Belonging in a World of Relations, Vol. 3 - Partners By Gavin Van Horn (Editor), Robin Wall Kimmerer (Editor), John Hausdoerffer (Editor) Cover Image
By Gavin Van Horn (Editor), Robin Wall Kimmerer (Editor), John Hausdoerffer (Editor)
$22.00
ISBN: 9781736862520
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Center for Humans and Nature - September 15th, 2021

Volume 3 of the Kinship series revolves around the question of interspecies relations How do relations between and among different species foster a sense of responsibility and belonging in us?


Kinship: Belonging in a World of Relations, Vol. 4 - Persons By Gavin Van Horn (Editor), Robin Wall Kimmerer (Editor), John Hausdoerffer (Editor) Cover Image
By Gavin Van Horn (Editor), Robin Wall Kimmerer (Editor), John Hausdoerffer (Editor)
$22.00
ISBN: 9781736862537
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Center for Humans and Nature - September 15th, 2021

Volume 4 of the Kinship series revolves around the question of interpersonal relations Which experiences expand our understanding of being human in relation to other-than-human beings?


Kinship: Belonging in a World of Relations, Vol. 5 - Practice By Gavin Van Horn (Editor), Robin Wall Kimmerer (Editor), John Hausdoerffer (Editor) Cover Image
By Gavin Van Horn (Editor), Robin Wall Kimmerer (Editor), John Hausdoerffer (Editor)
$22.00
ISBN: 9781736862544
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: Center for Humans and Nature - September 15th, 2021

Volume 5 of the Kinship series revolves around the question of practice What are the practical, everyday, and lifelong ways we become kin?


Kinship: Belonging in a World of Relations, 5-Volume Set By Gavin Van Horn (Editor), Robin Wall Kimmerer (Editor), John Hausdoerffer (Editor) Cover Image
By Gavin Van Horn (Editor), Robin Wall Kimmerer (Editor), John Hausdoerffer (Editor)
$100.00
ISBN: 9781736862551
Availability: Order Processes in 1-5 Days Depending on Store Stock
Published: Center for Humans and Nature - September 29th, 2021

*Nautilus Book Award Gold Medal Winner: Ecology & Environment

For readers of Braiding Sweetgrass and The Overstory