New Adventures Book Club

Bookmarks' New Adventures is open to the public- come join us! We are excited to share that the author, Martha Waters, will be joining us for this meeting. 

Finding new books and new authors to keep up with in any genre is a hard task! New Adventures does that for you, with Bookmarks bookseller Cat expertly helping pick a new and exciting title every month! This book club will provide you with a wonderful and engaging conversation, about books you may never have picked up on your own, with a group of people who will quickly become your best book buddies! Until further notice, this will be a virtual book club. To register, click HERE.

About To Have and to Hoax:

In this fresh and hilarious historical rom-com, an estranged husband and wife in Regency England feign accidents and illness in an attempt to gain attention—and maybe just win each other back in the process.

Five years ago, Lady Violet Grey and Lord James Audley met, fell in love, and got married. Four years ago, they had a fight to end all fights, and have barely spoken since.

Their once-passionate love match has been reduced to one of cold, detached politeness. But when Violet receives a letter that James has been thrown from his horse and rendered unconscious at their country estate, she races to be by his side—only to discover him alive and well at a tavern, and completely unaware of her concern. She’s outraged. He’s confused. And the distance between them has never been more apparent.

Wanting to teach her estranged husband a lesson, Violet decides to feign an illness of her own. James quickly sees through it, but he decides to play along in an ever-escalating game of manipulation, featuring actors masquerading as doctors, threats of Swiss sanitariums, faux mistresses—and a lot of flirtation between a husband and wife who might not hate each other as much as they thought. Will the two be able to overcome four years of hurt or will they continue to deny the spark between them?

With charm, wit, and heart in spades, To Have and to Hoax is a fresh and eminently entertaining romantic comedy—perfect for fans of Jasmine Guillory and Julia Quinn.

About Martha Waters:

Martha Waters is the author of To Have and to Hoax. She was born and raised in sunny South Florida, and is a graduate of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She works as a children’s librarian in North Carolina, and spends much of her free time traveling.  

By registering and attending this event, you agree to have your email address added to our newsletter distribution list. You may opt out at any time.

International Customers: We are happy to ship to most international addresses but cannot process these orders through our automated website. To process a phone payment, please call us at (336) 747-1471 x 1000 Monday-Saturday from 11 a.m. - 7 p.m. or Sunday from 12-6 p.m. To process an online payment, email staff@bookmarksnc.org with your name, order information, and shipping address, and we will send you a PayPal invoice.

Please be aware of our Code of Conduct:
Bookmarks has a zero tolerance policy for harassment of any kind in person or social media, including but not limited to: Stalking; intimidation; offensive verbal comments; physical assault and/or battery; harassing or non-consensual photography or recording; sustained disruption of programs, panels, signings, and other events; bathroom policing; inappropriate physical contact; and unwelcome physical attention, in relation to, but not limited to: race, color, national origin, gender, gender identity, gender presentation, sexual orientation, age, body size, ability, appearance, religion, citizenship, pregnancy. If a person engages in harassing behavior, Bookmarks Staff will take prompt action in any form they deem appropriate, including but not limited to expulsion from the Bookmarks sponsored event or premises. This policy applies to everyone (exhibitors, attendees, authors, speakers, guests, press, staff, board members, and volunteers) at all of Bookmarks events and programming. Anyone can report harassment. If someones behavior has made you uncomfortable, or if you witness the same happening to someone else, you should immediately contact Bookmarks staff or security. In this virtual landscape, we ask that you remain respectful as you would for an in person event. We will remove and ban you from virtual events if you submit any inappropriate content, offensive or of any nature that does not pertain to the event visually, verbally, or in written content. If removed from the event, you will not receive a refund of any kind.

Event date: 
Saturday, April 17, 2021 - 6:00pm
Event address: 
To Have and to Hoax: A Novel (The Regency Vows #1) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781982136116
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books - April 7th, 2020

Named a Best Romance of April by Goodreads, Popsugar, Bustle, and more!

“A laugh out loud Regency romp—if you loved the Bridgertons, you’ll adore To Have and to Hoax!” —Lauren Willig, New York Times bestselling author

In this fresh and hilarious historical rom-com, an estranged husband and wife in Reg


$0.00
SKU: DN00000001
$

Support Books with Purpose by making a donation to our year-round community outreach initiatives. Bookmarks is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization and all donations to Bookmarks are tax deducible (EIN: 54-2152610).