Morgan Jerkins in conversation with Phoebe Robinson

Bookmarks is excited to host Morgan Jerkins on virtual tour for her new book Caul Baby. Join us for this event on Tuesday, April 6th at 7:00 pm Eastern. This event will be available on a very limited release to Bookmarks and a few other bookstores. Morgan will be joined by Phoebe Robinson, author and comedian, in discussion.

To register, you must purchase a copy of Morgan's new book Caul Baby. Members of Bookmarks' Signed First Edition Club will attend for free and be automatically registered to attend. Join the Signed First Edition Club to receive a signed copy and registration to this event. Click HERE for more information on the Signed First Edition Club. **Registration for this event will close on Monday, April 5**

About Morgan Jerkins:
She is the New York Times bestselling author of This Will Be My Undoing: Living at the Intersection of Black, Female, and Feminist in (White) America, which was longlisted for PEN/Diamonstein-Spielvogel Award for the Art of the Essay and a Barnes & Noble Discover Pick, and Wandering In Strange Lands: A Daughter of the Great Migration Reclaims Her Roots. Her third book, Caul Baby: A Novel, is forthcoming from Harper Books in April 2021. She holds a BA in Comparative Literature from Princeton University and an MFA from the Bennington Writing Seminars. A recently named Forbes 30 under 30 Leader in Media, Jerkins regularly teaches at Columbia University’s School of the Arts in the Nonfiction department. Born and raised in Southern New Jersey, she’s currently based in Harlem and at work on television and film projects.

About Caul Baby:
New York Times bestselling author Morgan Jerkins makes her fiction debut with this electrifying novel, for fans of Ta-Nehisi Coates and Jacqueline Woodson, that brings to life one powerful and enigmatic family in a tale rife with secrets, betrayal, intrigue, and magic.

Laila desperately wants to become a mother, but each of her previous pregnancies has ended in heartbreak. This time has to be different, so she turns to the Melancons, an old and powerful Harlem family known for their caul, a precious layer of skin that is the secret source of their healing power.

When a deal for Laila to acquire a piece of caul falls through, she is heartbroken, but when the child is stillborn, she is overcome with grief and rage. What she doesn’t know is that a baby will soon be delivered in her family—by her niece, Amara, an ambitious college student—and delivered to the Melancons to raise as one of their own. Hallow is special: she’s born with a caul, and their matriarch, Maman, predicts the girl will restore the family’s prosperity.

Growing up, Hallow feels that something in her life is not right. Did Josephine, the woman she calls mother, really bring her into the world? Why does her cousin Helena get to go to school and roam the streets of New York freely while she’s confined to the family’s decrepit brownstone?

As the Melancons’ thirst to maintain their status grows, Amara, now a successful lawyer running for district attorney, looks for a way to avenge her longstanding grudge against the family. When mother and daughter cross paths, Hallow will be forced to decide where she truly belongs.  

 Engrossing, unique, and page-turning, Caul Baby illuminates the search for familial connection, the enduring power of tradition, and the dark corners of the human heart.

About Phoebe Robinson:

Phoebe Robinson is a multi-talented stand-up comedian, New York Times best-selling writer, and actress. She is best known as the co-creator and co-star of the hit podcast turned TV show 2 Dope Queens, which aired eight hour-long specials on HBO in February 2018 & 2019. On her second WNYC Studios podcast, the critically-acclaimed talk show Sooo Many White Guys, Phoebe interviews today’s biggest stars and ground breakers such as Tom Hanks, Issa Rae, Abbi Jacobson, and many more. Phoebe is also making her presence known in publishing as she is the author of The New York Times best seller You Can’t Touch My Hair & Other Things I Still Have To Explain, a collection of essays about race, gender and pop culture. Phoebe made her feature film debut as one of the stars of the Netflix comedy Ibiza and followed that up by acting alongside Taraji P. Henson in the Paramount film What Men Want. She was also a staff writer on MTV’s hit talking head show, Girl Code and IFC’s Portlandia, as well as was a consultant on season three of Broad City.

Please note: The Bookmarks team processes each order individually, including event registrations. **Registration for this event will close on Monday, April 5** You will receive an email the day of the event with a login link to this event from HarperCollins Publishers.

International Customers: We are happy to ship to most international addresses but cannot process these orders through our automated website. To process a phone payment, please call us at (336) 747-1471 x 1000 Monday-Saturday from 11 a.m. - 7 p.m. or Sunday from 12-6 p.m. To process an online payment, email staff@bookmarksnc.org with your name, order information, and shipping address, and we will send you a PayPal invoice.

By registering and attending this event, you agree to have your email address added to our newsletter distribution list. You may opt out at any time.

Please be aware of our Code of Conduct:
Bookmarks has a zero tolerance policy for harassment of any kind in person or social media, including but not limited to: Stalking; intimidation; offensive verbal comments; physical assault and/or battery; harassing or non-consensual photography or recording; sustained disruption of programs, panels, signings, and other events; bathroom policing; inappropriate physical contact; and unwelcome physical attention, in relation to, but not limited to: race, color, national origin, gender, gender identity, gender presentation, sexual orientation, age, body size, ability, appearance, religion, citizenship, pregnancy. If a person engages in harassing behavior, Bookmarks Staff will take prompt action in any form they deem appropriate, including but not limited to expulsion from the Bookmarks sponsored event or premises. This policy applies to everyone (exhibitors, attendees, authors, speakers, guests, press, staff, board members, and volunteers) at all of Bookmarks events and programming. Anyone can report harassment. If someones behavior has made you uncomfortable, or if you witness the same happening to someone else, you should immediately contact Bookmarks staff or security. In this virtual landscape, we ask that you remain respectful as you would for an in person event. We will remove and ban you from virtual events if you submit any inappropriate content, offensive or of any nature that does not pertain to the event visually, verbally, or in written content. If removed from the event, you will not receive a refund of any kind.

Event date: 
Tuesday, April 6, 2021 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
Caul Baby: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062873088
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper - April 6th, 2021

“The true strength of this book has a profound impact: in conveying the life-giving and life-sustaining power of Black women’s bodies, and the blood relationships between them. . . .


$0.00
SKU: DN00000001
$

Support Books with Purpose by making a donation to our year-round community outreach initiatives. Bookmarks is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization and all donations to Bookmarks are tax deducible (EIN: 54-2152610).