Book Launch for A SHORE THING with Joanna Lowell

Celebrate Pride with Bookmarks and join us for the launch of Joanna Lowell's newest romance novel A Shore Thing!

Joanna Lowell will be in conversation with Mir Yarfitz, Associate Professor of History at Wake Forest University. This is a no cost event with the option to pre-order a copy of the book with registration. You may also order through the pre-order campaign to receive a signed and personalized copy of the book. Please note that pre-orders do not count as event registration; you must also register to attend the event. Keep scrolling to register, or click here to register on Eventbrite. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About the Book

From award-winning literary author and acclaimed historical romance novelist Joanna Lowell (Artfully Yours) comes A SHORE THING, a delightfully queer Victorian romance following a transmasculine hero and the beguiling woman who captures his heart as they embark on a bicycle race by the British seaside. Perfect for fans of Bridgerton, Lisa Kleypas, and Sarah MacLean, Lowell’s latest is a sweet and summery historical romance infused with important discussions of transphobia, colonialism, and the patriarchal ideas surrounding gender and identity in Victorian society.

In A SHORE THING, former painter and unapologetic rake Kit Griffith is forging a new life for himself in Cornwall as the proprietor of a local bicycle shop. Kit chose freedom over a life that didn’t fit when he left his Sisterhood of women artists. Foregoing his paintbrushes, Kit devotes himself to selling bicycles and flirting with the lovely holidaymakers.

Kit never involves his heart with any short-lived flings, but a new arrival, the feisty and sharp-tongued Muriel Pendrake, throws him—quite literally—off balance. Bound for New York to give a lecture on British seaweed, botanist Muriel has made the trip to St. Ives for one reason. She aims to commission an artist who can truly capture the beauty of the natural wildlife around her. When Muriel discovers Kit is the artist whose work she followed to Cornwall, she is determined to enlist his talent for her lecture.

Unable to paint since leaving his former community, Kit knows he shouldn’t accept Muriel’s offer, but when he is goaded into proving to an all-male bicycle club that women can ride as well as men, he takes on Muriel’s commission in exchange for her participation in the race. Thus begins a buoyant adventure across the British seaside. As Kit and Muriel spend their days cycling together, their desires give way to something with much higher stakes than the race—falling in love. With the past always one step behind, Kit and Muriel must decide if they’re ready to follow their hearts and race into the unknown future together.

About the Author

Joanna Lowell lives among the fig trees in North Carolina, where she teaches in the English department at Wake Forest University. When she's not writing historical romance, she writes collections and novels as Joanna Ruocco. Those books include Dan, Another Governess / The Least Blacksmith, The Week, and Field Glass, co-authored with Joanna Howard.

About the Moderator

Mir Yarfitz is an Associate Professor of History at Wake Forest University. His teaching and research interests include Latin American cultural production, social movements, dictatorships and resistance, racial hierarchies, migration, gender, sexuality, masculinity, and transgender studies.


 

 

Event date: 
Tuesday, June 18, 2024 - 6:30pm
Event address: 
Bookmarks
634 W. Fourth St. #110
Winston Salem, NC 27101